Intro to the 7 Chakras

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning spinning wheel. These are a system of seven energy centers located along the spine. Each chakra corresponds to an area of the body, a set of behavioral characteristics and stages of spiritual growth. Practicing yoga and focusing your energies during different postures can help you to align your chakras and get all the wheels spinning in the same direction and speed. Understanding how to fine tune and control your chakras through yoga, meditation and Reiki can help bring balance and peace to your mind, body and spirit.

There are seven chakras, each associated with a different part of the body along the spine from the perineum to the crown of your head. Each chakra is associated with a particular body location, a color, a central emotional/behavioral issue, as well as many other personal aspects including identity, goals, rights, etc.

The seven chakras are:

  • Muladhara (Root)- base of the spine
  • Svadhisthana (Sacral) – abdomen, genitals, lower back/hip
  • Manipura (Solar Plexus) – stomach area
  • Anahata (Heart) – heart area
  • Vishuddha (Throat) – throat/neck area
  • Ajna (Third Eye) – brow, center of forehead
  • Sahasrara (Crown) – top of head, cerebral cortex

Through the movements and postures of yoga, you can learn to focus your concentration and energy to and from the various chakras in your body. This can allow you to compensate for areas that may be out of sync with the rest of your body or not active at all. By balancing the energy among all seven of the chakras, balance can be achieved. 

This spiritual energy is known as Kundalini energy. In its dormant state, it can be visualized as a coiled up snake resting at the base of your spine, the Muladhara (Root) chakra. Since the chakras act as valves or pumps regulating the flow of energy through your system, controlled and purposeful movements such as yoga can be extremely beneficial in realigning your chakras in a way that can cause great benefits to you in your physical and emotional wellbeing.

Reiki is also another way to clear and balance your chakras. Learning how to perform Self-Reiki (by taking a Reiki 1 class with an attunement) is beneficial to help keep yourself and your loved ones balanced and clear. I believe that everyone should learn Reiki – for themselves! It’s not just for those who wish to start a business doing Reiki. It is a form of self-care. If you would like to get started learning more, CLICK HERE to register for a Reiki 1 class. Or to begin by booking a Reiki session to experience it for yourself if you haven’t yet, CLICK HERE to schedule a session. I would love to work with you. 

To learn more about Reiki, check out my blog So You Want to Learn Reiki.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *